Human registry records · Hemopure / HBOC-201

Hemopure: registered human clinical studies

Official ClinicalTrials.gov records for Hemopure, HBOC-201 and hemoglobin glutamer-250 (bovine). Registry records are listed separately from journal publications.

How many records were found?

Nine human records were found: six Interventional records and three Expanded Access records. Five of the six interventional records are Phase 2; the sixth is classified as Interventional with phase Not Applicable, despite Expanded Access Study in its title. Four of the five Phase 2 records are randomized. These are not nine randomized controlled trials.

Oxyglobin is a different veterinary formulation, hemoglobin glutamer-200 / HBOC-301. No ClinicalTrials.gov records were found for the four checked Oxyglobin aliases. Read the separate veterinary registry and FDA/EMA source note →

Registry search checked . Each record below retains its own last-update and status-verification dates. Registration does not establish efficacy, approval or current access.

Registry overview. Open an NCT identifier for the full record summary.
NCT / protocolRegistry typeRegistry statusLast update posted
NCT00300040
BIOSA001/BIOEU001
InterventionalTerminated2008-05-16
NCT00301483
HEM-0125
InterventionalUnknown2008-03-06
NCT00301535
BIOEU003
InterventionalUnknown2008-05-16
NCT00317512
COR-0001
InterventionalCompleted2008-05-16
NCT00479895
COR-0002
InterventionalCompleted2008-05-30
NCT01881503
E-12-454
InterventionalEnrolling by invitation2025-04-13
NCT02684474
IRB00090805
Expanded AccessNo longer available2025-10-23
NCT02934282
20160819
Expanded AccessNo longer available2024-12-20
NCT03633604
STUDY19070376
Expanded AccessNo longer available2026-07-20

Six interventional records

NCT00300040 · Interventional

Safety/Feasibility Study of HBOC-201 in Amputation at/Below Knee From Critical Lower Limb Ischemia

Official title: Phase II, Multi-Center,Single-Blind,Placebo-Controlled Study,Evaluating Safety & Feasibility of HBOC-201 (Wound Healing Patients With Peripheral Vascular Disease & Undergoing Lower Limb Amputation Due to Critical Lower Limb Ischemia

Protocol
BIOSA001/BIOEU001
Registry status
Terminated
Enrollment
16 (actual)
Phase
Phase 2
Design
randomized, parallel, single
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 75 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2008-05

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT00300040 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT00301483 · Interventional

A Single Site Safety and Tolerability Study of HBOC-201 in Trauma Subjects

Official title: A Single-Center, Study to Evaluate the Safety and Tolerability of Hemoglobin-Based Oxygen Carrier-201 (HBOC 201) in Trauma Subjects. (Phase II - Safety and Tolerability)

Protocol
HEM-0125
Registry status
Unknown
Enrollment
53 (estimated)
Phase
Phase 2
Design
randomized, crossover, single
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 65 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2008-02

The last known status was Recruiting in 2008. Current recruitment is not confirmed.

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT00301483 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT00301535 · Interventional

A Study of Hemopure® to Enhance Tissue Preservation During Cardiopulmonary Bypass Surgery

Official title: Enhancement of Tissue Preservation During Cardiopulmonary Bypass With HBOC-201 (Registry Study)

Protocol
BIOEU003
Registry status
Unknown
Enrollment
60 (estimated)
Phase
Phase 2
Design
non randomized, parallel, none
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2008-05

The last known status was Recruiting in 2008. Current recruitment is not confirmed.

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT00301535 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT00317512 · Interventional

Pilot Study of Hemoglobin Based Oxygen Therapeutics in Elective Coronary Revascularization

Official title: A Multi-Center,Randomized,Double-Blind,Placebo-Controlled,Dose Finding Pilot Study, to Evaluate Safety/Feasibility of HBOC-201 in Elective Percutaneous Coronary Revascularization of Subjects With Acute Coronary Syndromes

Protocol
COR-0001
Registry status
Completed
Enrollment
45 (actual)
Phase
Phase 2
Design
randomized, factorial, triple
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 75 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2008-05

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT00317512 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT00479895 · Interventional

Hemoglobin Based Oxygen Therapeutics in Elective Percutaneous Coronary Revascularization

Official title: Phase II, Open-Label Study in the Catheterization Laboratory Setting to Challenge the Concept That HBOC-201 Administration Might Improve Myocardial 'Oxygenation' and Myocardial Function at the Moment of (Brief) Coronary Occlusion

Protocol
COR-0002
Registry status
Completed
Enrollment
5 (actual)
Phase
Phase 2
Design
randomized, crossover, single
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2008-05

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT00479895 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT01881503 · Interventional

Expanded Access Study of HBOC-201 (Hemopure) for the Treatment of Life-Threatening Anemia

Official title: Expanded Access Protocol for the Treatment Use of HBOC-201

Protocol
E-12-454
Registry status
Enrolling by invitation
Enrollment
50 (estimated)
Phase
Not applicable / not assigned
Design
na, single group, none
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2021-08

The title says Expanded Access Study, but the registry classifies this record as Interventional. Status was last verified in August 2021. The listed status does not confirm present access or availability.

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT01881503 ↗ · Official API data ↗

Three expanded-access records

NCT02684474 · Expanded Access

Expanded Access Protocol Using HBOC-201

Official title: Expanded Access Protocol Using HBOC-201 to Treat Patients With Life Threatening Anemia, for Whom Blood is Not an Option

Protocol
IRB00090805
Registry status
No longer available
Enrollment
Not reported
Phase
Not applicable / not assigned
Design
Not assigned in this record
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2025-10

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT02684474 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT02934282 · Expanded Access

HBOC-201 Expanded Access Protocol for Life-threatening Anemia for Whom Allogeneic Blood Transfusion is Not an Option

Official title: Expanded Access Protocol Using HBOC-201

Protocol
20160819
Registry status
No longer available
Enrollment
Not reported
Phase
Not applicable / not assigned
Design
Not assigned in this record
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2024-12

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT02934282 ↗ · Official API data ↗

NCT03633604 · Expanded Access

Expanded Access IND Administration of HBOC-201 in Patients With Severe Acute Anemia

Official title: An Expanded IND Access Investigation of HBOC-201 Infusion in Patients With Severe Acute Anemia Who Are Unable to Receive Red Blood Cell Transfusion

Protocol
STUDY19070376
Registry status
No longer available
Enrollment
Not reported
Phase
Not applicable / not assigned
Design
Not assigned in this record
Participants
Humans, 18 Years to 80 Years
Last update posted
Status last verified
2026-07

Official ClinicalTrials.gov record: NCT03633604 ↗ · Official API data ↗

Questions and search scope

Are these Oxyglobin trials?

No. The nine human records concern Hemopure / HBOC-201 / hemoglobin glutamer-250. Oxyglobin is the veterinary glutamer-200 formulation. Evidence for either historical product is not proof of a BHOC product's safety, efficacy or approval.

Does Unknown mean Recruiting?

No. NCT00301483 and NCT00301535 have Unknown current status. Recruiting is their last known status from 2008. NCT01881503 lists Enrolling by invitation, with status last verified in August 2021. Confirm any present access directly with the responsible study team.

Are results posted in the registry?

None of these nine records had structured results posted at the check date. This does not establish that journal articles are absent. A publication is linked to an NCT record only after its protocol and participant cohort have been matched.

Are expanded access and marketing approval the same?

No. Expanded access concerns investigational treatment under the relevant regulatory pathway. It is not a marketing approval. Read the FDA expanded-access source note.

How was this list compiled?

The dated API audit checks Oxyglobin, HBOC-301, HBOC-200, hemoglobin glutamer-200, Hemopure, HBOC-201 and hemoglobin glutamer-250, plus a broader Biopure query. The broader query includes unrelated products, which were excluded. This is a product-specific ClinicalTrials.gov search, not an inventory of every historical human HBOC protocol or every registry worldwide.

View exact queries, counts, timestamps and official API links · Search human clinical and separately labelled translational publications